Certified Public Accountant

Certified Public Accountants are licensed in Illinois by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.  The current CPA certification requirements include:

  • A bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university;
  • 24 semester units in accounting-related subjects;
  • 24 semester units in business-related subjects ;
  • 150 semester units (or 225 quarter units) of education ;
  • Passing the Uniform CPA exam;
  • One year of general accounting experience supervised by a CPA with an active license;
  • Passing an Ethics course

Chartered Financial Analyst

The Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) charter is a globally respected, graduate-level investment credential established in 1962 and awarded by CFA Institute – the largest global association of investment professionals.

There are currently more than 90,000 CFA charterholders working in 135 countries. To earn the CFA charter, candidates must: 1) pass three sequential, 6 hour examinations; 2) have at least 4 years of qualified professional investment experience; 3) join CFA Institute as members; and 4) commit to abide by, and annually reaffirm, their adherence to the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct.

The CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct is enforced through an active professional conduct program.

This program requires CFA charterholders to :

  • Place their clients’ interests ahead of their own
  • Maintain independence and objectivity
  • Act with integrity
  • Maintain and improve their professional competence
  • Disclose conflicts of interest and legal matters.